Slide 1


Initially named the “Asia-Pacific Space Designers Alliance”, APSDA has been at the forefront of promoting the Interior Design profession and improving design standards throughout the region since its inception in 1987. It has existed as an informal gathering from then till 2017, when it was formalised.

During the APSDA General Assembly in Adelaide, South Australia in October 2016, the Malaysian Institute of Interior Designers (MIID) obtained the full mandate of all the member institutes from Australia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Taiwan and Thailand to formally register the Asia-Pacific regional body in Malaysia. This was a result of two and a half years of hard work involving the hosting of and travelling to meetings in different cities by the Protem Committee members entrusted to look into the formalisation of APSDA.

Ar. Chris Yap Seng Chye held the position of Protem Chairman of this body, appointed by then APSDA President Ms Julie Hobbs, as he was the one responsible for initiating the formalisation process of APSDA at the APSDA General Assembly in Solo, Indonesia.

With the full support of other like-minded and dedicated Protem Committee Members, Presidents and official delegates such as James Jao (PIID), Lea Avilliani Aziz (HDII), Hiromu Hasegawa (JCD), Pratap Vasant Jadhav (IIID), Montip Lynn Assoratgoon (TIDA), Julie Hobbs (DIA), Kung Shu Chang (CSID), assisted by Mohamad Faisal Ghazali (MIID), Anthony Chan (HKIDA), Francis Surjaseputra (HDII), George Budiman (IDCS), Masanobu Takeishi (JCD) and Vachira Thanmathikom (TIDA), the process proceeded smoothly but tediously to see the light of day.

Past Presidents (Post-registration)

Chris Yap, MIID

Year 2017 - 2019

Lea Aziz, HDII

Year 2019 - 2021


Prior to its formalisation, APSDA existed as an informal alliance for over 19 years


Official Registration

In 2015, it was agreed by the Protem Committee for APSDA to be renamed as the “Asia-Pacific Space Designers Association”, and the formal approval of APSDA’s registration was obtained on 23rd January 2017 from the Registry of Societies in Malaysia.

In the approval, 8 national Asia-Pacific Interior Design bodies were officially registered as Founder Full Members of APSDA. They are:

Chinese Society of Interior Designers (Taiwan) (CSID)

Design Institute of Australia (DIA)

Himpunan Desainer Interior Indonesia (HDII)

Institute of Indian Interior Designers (IIID)

Japan Commercial Environmental Design Association (JCD)

Malaysian Insitute of Interior Designers (MIID)

Philippine Institute of Interior Designers (PIID)

Thailand Interior Designers Association (TIDA)